top of page
Number of Deaths in 2021 so far:21



Number of Deaths since 1998:



73% of Deaths


2 years old and younger

Those "forgotten"




The Heat Stroke Numbers!

How long it takes for inside of car to "heat up" 50 degrees 


1-2 hours

But a child will die long before that

Most Deaths occur in 2 states:


#1. Texas

#2. Florida*

States with laws against leaving a child unattended



How hot can a  car dashboard become?


180-200 degrees

Florida Law:

The 2020 Florida Statutes*


Chapter 316 

View Entire Chapter

316.6135 Leaving children unattended or unsupervised in motor vehicles; penalty; authority of law enforcement officer.—

(1) A parent, legal guardian, or other person responsible for a child younger than 6 years of age may not leave the child unattended or unsupervised in a motor vehicle:

(a) For a period in excess of 15 minutes;

(b) For any period of time if the motor of the vehicle is running, the health of the child is in danger, or the child appears to be in distress.

(2) Any person who violates the provisions of paragraph (1)(a) commits a misdemeanor of the second degree punishable as provided in s. 775.082 or s. 775.083.

(3) Any person who violates the provisions of paragraph (1)(b) is guilty of a noncriminal traffic infraction, punishable by a fine not less than $50 and not more than $500.

(4) Any person who violates subsection (1) and in so doing causes great bodily harm, permanent disability, or permanent disfigurement to a child commits a felony of the third degree, punishable as provided in s. 775.082, s. 775.083, or s. 775.084.

(5) Any law enforcement officer who observes a child left unattended or unsupervised in a motor vehicle in violation of subsection (1) may use whatever means are reasonably necessary to protect the minor child and to remove the child from the vehicle.

(6) If the child is removed from the immediate area, notification should be placed on the vehicle.

(7) The child shall be remanded to the custody of the Department of Children and Families pursuant to chapter 39, unless the law enforcement officer is able to locate the parents or legal guardian or other person responsible for the child.

History.—s. 1, ch. 85-229; s. 4, ch. 87-225; s. 330, ch. 95-148; s. 57, ch. 99-8; s. 241, ch. 99-248; s. 1, ch. 2007-205; s. 14, ch. 2012-181; s. 56, ch. 2014-19.


This Statute provided by the FLorida Legislature information website. 

Special thanks to Meterologist Jan Null at for providing life saving statistics

Jan Null, Certified Consulting Meteorologist

* Question:  Do you think legislators should eliminate the "15 minute" limitation of this law?     

HOT CARS Act of 2016:  Hope for the Future. 


The HOT CARS Act is an attempt at saving lives of our children who become trapped.  It is a proposal by Representative Tim Ryan, a U.S. Representative from Ohio.  The bill was introduced on September 15, 2016.  As of September 15, 2016, the bill was referred to the House Committee on Energy and Commerce.  The bill will have to pass the House of Representatives, then the U.S. Senate, get signed by President Trump, and then this bill becomes law.  This Bill would have car manufacturers install warning devices in all new cars. 

bottom of page